Kanji Hacks 漢字の覚え方

How to memorize kanji so they stick

林(はやし、リン)

Meaning: woods, grove

Components: 木 (tree)

My hack: One tree is just a tree, 2 trees are a grove/woods.

April 22, 2009 Posted by | 8 strokes, Grade 1, JLPT 2 | , , , , | Leave a comment

車(くるま、シャ)

Meaning: car

My hack: This looks like a bird’s eye view of a chariot, which was the car of its day I suppose.

Photo by joaquinuy

Photo by joaquinuy

April 22, 2009 Posted by | 7 strokes, Grade 1, JLPT 4, Radicals | , , , , | 2 Comments

疋(ひき)

Meaning: bolt of cloth, head count

My hack: I agree with Heisig that this looks like 正 (correct), with a little flourish on the end. (He calls it “mending.”) I like to remember it with since that one is easier to remember since it has such a clear visual.

April 22, 2009 Posted by | Radicals | , , , | Leave a comment

足(あし、た・りる、た・る、た・す、ソク)

Meaning: leg/foot, enough

Components: 口 (mouth), and it looks a lot like 疋 (bolt of cloth)

My hack: To me, this really looks like a cartoon of a person running (“fleet of foot“). That 6th stroke could also remind you of an oversized foot.

April 22, 2009 Posted by | 7 strokes, Grade 1, JLPT 3, Radicals | , , , , | Leave a comment